Award-winning School Administrator New West School Principal

Jan Murphy, who is a Wallingford Teacher of the Year and Administrator of the Year, has been named West School's new principal.

Jan Murphy, the new principal of West Elementary School. Photo: New Canaan Public Schools.
Jan Murphy, the new principal of West Elementary School. Photo: New Canaan Public Schools.

A school administrator from Wallingford has been appointed the new principal of New Canaan's West Elementary School.

The New Canaan Public Schools have appointed Jan M. Murphy as the new principal of West Elementary School, effective July 1, 2014.

Murphy comes from Wallingford Public Schools where she most recently served as Principal K-2 at the Cook Hill School. Prior to taking a sabbatical leave, Murphy served as Cook Hill School principal from 2008 to 2012. Her sabbatical year was devoted to exploring 21st Century Innovation as part of a team for the Wallingford Public Schools.

Murphy is a graduate of Eastern Connecticut State College where she earned a Bachelor of Science degree. She holds a Masters of Education from the University of Houston, a 6th-year degree from University of Connecticut and 7th-year degree from the University of Bridgeport. Her education includes an emphasis on Mathematics Education and Gifted/Talented Education. 

Murphy’s professional background as an educator includes experience as a STEP Teacher (Gifted/Talented Grades 3-5), Math Specialist (Gifted/Remedial) and Grade 5 teacher. She has been recognized as Wallingford Administrator of the Year 2009, Connecticut State Teacher of the Year Semifinalist 2005-06 and Wallingford Teacher of the Year 2005-06.

In a statement, New Canaan School Superintendent Dr. Mary Kolek said, “We are excited to welcome such an accomplished educational leader as a member of our district. Jan has been consistently characterized as a caring, highly effective, innovative educator and highly collaborative team member and promises to be a strong fit for a leadership team that values such attributes and efforts.”

Gary Kass, NCPS Director of Human Resources, led the elementary principal search committee that was comprised of representative members of the school community. Committee members included Jill Correnty, Assistant Superintendent Curriculum and Instruction; Darlene Pianka, Assistant Superintendent Pupil and Family Services; Greg Macedo, Principal of Saxe Middle School; Joanne Rocco, Principal of South Elementary School; Glenda Green, Language Arts Coordinator; Scott Gress, Board of Education member; Janet Fonss and Caryn Kelly, West School PTC Presidents; Joanna Tamburro and Francine Gurtler, West School teachers; Courtney Langford and Patty Zoccolillo, East School PTC Presidents; Anne Gesauldi and Claudia Monaco, East School teachers.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »